Bellazon

Star Wars: The Extra Halcyon Generation

babranski

The Extra Generation: The Monumental Screw-Up of Michael A. Stackpole

by Nicholas J. Branski

As an aspiring author, I spend a lot of time pouring over reserach material that relates to the topic I intend to write on. Recently I have wanted to write a re-interpritation of the three Star Wars Preqeul movies, Episode's I-III. On top of that I wanted to create an extensive background plot covering the events leading up to the new prequel trilogy. In short, I wanted to re-write most of what happened during the twenty years leading up to the emergence of the Galactic Empire.

From all of the Star Wars books I have read, by far my favorite character is Corran Horn. I was introduced to him in the X-Wing series as a brash young pilot about the same age as Luke Skywalker (according to Stackpole) who had a knack for the stick and an obvious affinity to the Force. I truely fell in love with him in Stackpole's novel "I, Jedi", the epic first-person novel that follows Corran Horn through his trials as a fighter pilot, a student at Luke Skywalkers Jedi Acadamy, and as a loving husband to the missing and presumed dead Mirax Terrick. I was thouroughly upset after the release of Episode II, and more recently Episode III, that the popularity of Corran was not exploited, or even touched. As apalling as George Lucas's new movies were, they were made even more so by his complete disregard of his fans and what they wanted to see. Beside the point, considering how bad the movies were, I would have likely decided to write a recreation of the movies even if they were to follow Neeja Halcyon throughout.