Jump to content


Recommended Posts



hellogoodbye is a synth/power pop band that was formed in Huntington Beach, California in 2001. They are signed to Drive-Thru Records and released their first full-length album, Zombies! Aliens! Vampires! Dinosaurs! in 2006, in addition to their previously released EP Hellogoodbye and DVD OMG HGB DVD ROTFL. In 2005, the band appeared on MTV's The Real World: Austin and won MTV2's Dew Circuit Breakout.

Early career (2001-2004)

hellogoodbye was initiated in 2001 as a recording project by Huntington Beach High School student Forrest Kline. With the aid of fellow student Jesse Kurvink, Kline started recording synthesized power pop songs on his computer, which originally only served the purpose of entertaining their friends. However, hellogoodbye's fan base grew steadily, as more and more of their songs appeared on MP3.com: a total of eleven spread on fan-assembled CD-Rs labeled The Parachute EP and served as demos for both their following EP and full-length album. Originally The Parachute EP was planned to be officially released containing four songs, however, only a handful of copies were burnt by Kline himself. According to Kline, the band name was inspired by the Beatles song "Hello, Goodbye", as well as a line from the TV series Saved by the Bell, and the general transience of opportunities.

In 2002, hellogoodbye began playing local concerts without having a released album. For live shows, vocalist/guitarist Kline and keyboardist Kurvink were accompanied on drums by either Parker Case, who would later form the now defunct JamisonParker and is currently a member of Say Anything, or Aaron Flora, formerly of the band Throwdownand currently of the band Northern. Flora and bassist Marcus Cole soon joined them permanently, completing the band's line-up.

Though California indie label Drive-Thru Records signed hellogoodbye in January 2004, everything the band does is still entirely done by themselves, ranging from recordings and album artwork to posters and merchandise designs. Shortly after their signing, Kline and Kurvink recorded the band's debut EP, hellogoodbye, which spawned a music video to the song "Call n' Return." The video featured Kline and Flora playing a comedic game of tennis against Cole and Kurvink. In March 2004, drummer Flora left the band and was replaced by then 16-year-old Chris Profeta (formerly of A Cutthroat Kiss).

Zombies! Aliens! Vampires! Dinosaurs! (2006-Present)

In 2006, hellogoodbye appeared on the Vans Warped Tour. On August 8, 2006, Drive-Thru Records released hellogoodbye's first full-length CD Zombies! Aliens! Vampires! Dinosaurs!. The album contains mostly re-recorded versions of previously released songs, five of which were scheduled to be on hellogoodbye's never-released 2002 debut album ("All Time Lows", "I Saw It on Your Keyboard", "Two Weeks in Hawaii", "Figures A and B", and "Touchdown Turnaround"). On November 7, 2006, hellogoodbye released an internet-only remix EP called Remixes!, which can be purchased at the iTunes Store, as well as the band's MySpace page.

In January 2007, the single "Here (In Your Arms)" saw a resurgence on Top 40 radio and entered the Billboard Hot 100 (peaking at #14) and the Pop 100 (peaking at #9). In the same month, they also appeared on The Late Late Show with Craig Ferguson and began a headlining tour of Japan and the United Kingdom, supported by Houston Calls and Plain White T's. Also one of their songs ("Oh It's Love") is the theme song on MTV's "Engaged and Underage". On March 13, 2007, they released an iTunes exclusive three song EP, which features three different remixes of the song "All of Your Love". In April, they headlined the side stage at Give It a Name 2007. As of April 3 they are doing a North American tour with Boys Like Girls, called "Two Months of Spring Break Tour '99". hellogoodbye are set to play the Reading and Leeds Festivals in August 2007 and have also announced a headline show to be played at the London Astoria on August 21 which has already sold out. On May 5 2007, the band played the main stage of The Bamboozle in New Jersey.

On Wednesday June 6 2007 the band performed on Last Call with Carson Daly.


Forrest Kline – Vocals, guitar

Jesse Kurvink – Keyboards, backing vocals

Marcus Cole – Bass

Chris Profeta – Drums

Former members

Aaron Flora – Drums



Link to comment
Share on other sites

  • 2 weeks later...
  • 2 weeks later...

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.

Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.

  • Recently Browsing   0 members

    • No registered users viewing this page.
  • Create New...