Bellazon

Tiffany Hsu
Thumbnail

Fashion Buyer

Conversations: What Does A Fashion Buyer Really Do?
The ultra chic Tiffany Hsu of MYTHERESA.COM spills the beans. If you think it's just "shopping for other people", it's time we changed that.

Fashion buying, like so much of the rest of the fashion industry, is often glamorised as something that is all fun and games. Sure, working in fashion has its perks if you’re into it, but it is a job just like any other. To clear up all the misconceptions about the job – and to get an insider’s view on the season’s biggest brands and trends – we roped in our pal Tiffany Hsu, buying manager at mytheresa.com by day and street style photographer favourite by night (and also day). Girl knows her stuff, so listen and take copious notes. For more industry insider interviews like this, click here.

How did you fall into fashion buying?
I studied fashion design at Central St. Martin’s College and just kind of fell into buying after I finished school. I was never formally trained as a buyer. I think actual experience in the field is the most important thing to becoming a buyer! Of course, formal training is a good way to kickstart.

There’s this misconception that fashion buyers are like personal shoppers, except they shop for a retailer instead of just one person.
A good fashion buyer should understand the customer well and also their needs. And also, make the best selection that represents the brand and the business. It is important that your buy has a point of view. Buying is not just picking what you like from the show, but you need to have a good level of understanding of your business and customer to identify what is needed. Sometimes I feel like I work in finance more than fashion! There is a lot of hard work behind the glamorous fashion shows!

How do you separate what you like yourself to what you actually buy for your retailer?